I’m so naive in my new veganism efforts. My sister came to visit a couple of weeks ago. We had a fabulous time. My boys just love her. I tried out all my best recipes for her. She is always game for anything. Out of all the members of my family, she eats the least amount of meat and is probably the only one who truly understands why I have chosen this lifestyle. So for that, I praise and lover her so much. Anyway. In my search for great recipes and ideas, I came across the recipe for Vegan Eggplant Parmesan from the blog Almost Vegan. Well, I went shopping and bought what I thought was vegan mozzarella cheese. It said “soy” and “cheese alternative” on it so I bought it. I made the Eggplant Parmesan and it was very tasty. The next day I notice that my baby had a rash on his face and chest(one of the main reasons I switched from vegetarian to vegan is that my baby is allergic to milk and I’m breastfeeding). I couldn’t think of what I had eaten that could have given him this rash. I’ve been doing so well. Then it occurred to me to actually read the label on the “soy” cheese. SECOND ingredient….. skim milk!!! UGH!!! I was very upset. I had just assumed the since the label had said “soy” and “cheese alternative” that it meant vegan. I’m just so confused! Why would someone need soy cheese that has milk in it. I must be missing something. There must be something in regular cheese that would require someone to buy a soy cheese instead. So, now I am wiser for the better. I will always check my labels better. I am also having to learn the names for hidden non-vegan things in ingredient lists. There are so many things to watch out for!!